

HALLOW PARISH COUNCIL

Email: hallowparishcouncil@gmail.com

Tel: 07539 638 121 Chair: Hazel Kemshall Parish Clerk: Julia Hixson

Minutes of the Parish Council co-option meeting 4th October, 7pm, Committee room, Parish Hall, Hallow

In attendance: Cllr Kemshall, Cllr Sylvester, Cllr Marson, Cllr Walker, Christopher Wayman (CALC representative), Julia Hixson (Clerk).

7 members of the public, 6 of whom were applicants to be considered for co-option.

AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for Absence
 - Apologies received from Joseph Grange. We were advised by CALC that Mr Grange could be considered for co-option in his absence.
- 2. To consider and agree to co-opt applicants for the vacancies of Office of Parish Councillor. We are in receipt of 7 applications which will be considered in alphabetical order.

Chair Cllr Kemshall introduced the Councillors and Christopher Wayman and explained the process whereby applications would be considered in alphabetical order, that applications would be considered on the basis of their application form, that applicants would be invited to speak before the voting by Councillors would take place. No reasons would be given for the Councillors' voting and no dialogue would be entered into following the meeting. All applicants had been forwarded a copy of the Good Councillor guide 2024, the Councillors code of conduct guidance, and made fully aware of the need to declare pecuniary interests.

All applicants were thanked for making their application.

Voting was as follows:

Lynne Ambury – co-opted
Dean Clarke – not co-opted
Joseph Grange – co-opted
Paul Hayes – not co-opted
Sheila Nall - co-opted
Heidi Shelton -Smith – co-opted
Andrea Unwin – not co-opted

The co-opted applicants were thanked, welcomed individually, and were advised that the first meeting would be on 10th October, details would be sent in due course.

3. To witness the newly co-opted Councillor(s) sign their Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Co-opted applicants were asked to sign the acceptance of office form and given a declaration of pecuniary interest form to complete and return to the clerk at the meeting on 10th October.

It was agreed for Joseph Grange to sign the declaration of acceptance of office before or at the next meeting.

Meeting closed 7.15pm

End of minutes.

Minutes approved 10th October 2024

Signed by Chair: Hazel Kemshall